Tutorial Wednesday Making Magnets with Bugaboo Stamps

*This is my 2nd post for today,  if you are looking for my Flutter By Wednesday card please scroll down.*

Hello again everyone, happy Wednesday!  I have a special post today, it is my turn to share a tutorial for Bugaboo Stamps with you!   I have looked at many but never done one myself until now, so please be gentle.  I am going to show you how to make a quick little magent today,  let’s get started!

What I used:

Neenah Card stock, Copic markers, Nesties, Judikins DG3 gel, Be Creative tape (Sookwang tape), Chip board, Magnet, Distress Ink.

Print out the image you want to use and collect all of your supplies, and then color your image.

When you are happy with how your image is colored you can cut it into the shape you wish. I centred the Nestie over my image and then taped it down before running it through my Cuttlebug.

I also ran a piece of chipboard (cracker box) through my Cuttlebug for the back of the magnet to give it added strength.

Attach the chipboard and the image carefully with your adhesive.  Before you ink the edges lightly with distress ink sand any rough edges around your image and attach your magnet to the back side.

Carefully apply the art gel to your image being careful not to get too many bubbles.  If you do get them carefully remove with a pin and allow to dry overnight.  I found that the gel takes quite a bit of time to dry up so you need to watch little fingers!  It took me a couple of tries before I learned that lesson!

I did try using Glossy Accents as well as Diamond Glaze for my this, but the Glossy accents did not dry nearly as clear as the Judikins art gel.  The art gel is also self  leveling  and did not go over the sides which I loved.

So there you go, my first tutorial!  I hope you enjoyed!  Have a great day and thanks for stopping by.

21 thoughts on “Tutorial Wednesday Making Magnets with Bugaboo Stamps

  1. Great tutorial, Peggy! I’m not sure whether I can find the art gel in the Netherlands but I will give it a try with bookbinders glue. Apparently that also gives a clear finish.

  2. Awesome Peggy! Where did you find the Art Gel??? Anywhere local around here???! What a great magnet! 🙂

  3. Dontcha just love Bugaboo? One of my very favorite digi’s. What a great idea for a magnet. Where did you purchase the glaze? I have not heard of it before. Also, have you tried the Nesties magnet plate that is supposed to hold the Nesties in place? I am thinking of getting one, but I haven’t seen anyone use it yet. 🙂
    ~Terri

  4. Your first tutorial and you did a GREAT job Peggy! Love how the magnet turned out. I love Bugaboo images.

  5. What a cool tutorial and FABULOUS project! Hmmm, might just have to give this a try – I think we have some magnets that could DEFINITELY be replaced by some cute ones like this!!!
    Hugs & Happy Days!

  6. Awesome!

    I love magnets, your tutorial, your stamp and the information about the gel stuff!

    It’s impossible to decipher that this is your first tutorial! You’re already a pro!

  7. … just realized that Tammy above also called you a pro … swear I didn’t see that before saving my comment … so you really ARE a pro! After all … we’d know!

  8. Oh how fun! I’ve never heard of the art gel…will have to look into that! I love magnets and I know so many people that collect them. This is a great way to make one of a kind gifts for them! TFS!!

Leave a Reply

